What's the second longest word in english?

The second longest English word is "Hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia," which has 36 letters. The longest word is "Pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis," with 45 letters.

---

In fact, most of the very long words in the dictionary are scientific terms: the second-longest word is electroencephalographically, which has 27 letters, and means 'by means of an electroencephalograph' (referring to a machine used to record brain activity).