What is sodium hydroxide?

Sodium hydroxide is sometimes called caustic soda or lye. It is a common ingrediet in cleaners and soaps. At room temperature, sodium hydroxide is a white, odorless solid. Liquid sodium hydroxide is colorless and has no odor. It can react violently with strong acids and with water.