When did beetlejuice explode?

The red giant Betelgeuse, in the constellation Orion, has not exploded. Observations of recent unusual activity have, however, convinced some scientists that the star is about to explode in a supernova, fairly soon. With stars, "fairly soon" could be any time in the next 50,000 years or so.