What's the shortest scripture in the bible?

John 11 verse 35 is the shortest verse in modern translations of the Bible. It reads, "Jesus wept." Bear in mind, verse and chapter divisions are simply for convenience, and not part of the original manuscripts. Chapters were 1st used in the 13th century, with verses coming in the 16th century.