When did credit cards come out?

The first credit card in widespread use was Diner's Club. It came out in February, 1950.

---

In 1950 the first universal credit card was introduced by Diners’ Club, Inc.

---

The first universal credit card, which could be used at a variety of establishments, was introduced by the Diners' Club, Inc., in 1950. Another major card of this type, known as a travel and entertainment card, was established by the American Express Company in 1958.