Can i put egg shells down the garbage disposal?

Garbage disposals do not have blades. ... So, putting ice or egg shells down the disposal to sharpen the blades will not do any good. In fact, egg shells are not recommended for the garbage disposal as the membrane can get wrapped around the impellers and cause damage.