Is part time one word or two?

As per the Associated Press rules, when used to modify a noun, such as "time," part and time are hyphenated to make the familiar combination of "part-time job." But they are two separate words that stand alone without a hyphen when they do not modify a noun, such as in, "Robert works part time."