Why are woodchucks called woodchucks?

They actually get their name from the Algonquin tribe, who originally called them “wuchak.” English settlers, in trying to use that word, came up with the name “woodchuck.” Depending on where you are in the country, woodchucks are also known as groundhogs, land beavers, and whistling pigs.