What is a code of arms?

The word "arms" just means weapons and ammunition; armaments. So a coat of arms is a heraldic visual design on an escutcheon (i.e., shield), surcoat, or tabard. The design is like a flag for the fighter or the household, showing who is there and who is fighting in the battle.