How do you cook brown rice in a rice cooker?

The general ratio recommendation for brown rice is 2 1/4 cups water to 1 cup brown rice. While almost all rice cookers come with a measuring cup, some have markings on the cooking pot so you always know how much rice and water to add, no matter how many cups you're using or what type of rice