Where does the term bought the farm come from?

Phrase predates WWII, but used in that time due to the large numbers of training casualties by inexperienced pilots, crashes in rural areas would result in planes crashing into barns and fields. The US Government would repay the farm owners for damages, in effect "buying the farm".