What is french toast made in france?

French toast dates back to ancient Rome. The Romans dipped slices of bread in milk (and sometimes eggs) before frying them, and called it “Pan Dulcis.”. It was not until the 17th century that the term “French Toast” appeared in England . In France, it is called pain perdue