Is holiday a common noun?

Yes, the word "HOLIDAY" is a common noun. A common noun is one that refers to a general class of person, place, thing, or idea, rather than something specific. In contrast, a proper noun is one that refers to something specific, and is always capitalized, like "Christmas" or "New York."

---

Yes, holiday is a common noun unless it is someone's name, like Doc Holiday. In that case, it needs to be capitalized.