How hard are rocks?

The hardness of a rock depends on the type of rock. For example: granite is harder than sandstone.

---

The hardness of rocks depends on the Mohs, hardness scale, some have a scale of 2 and are very soft, and we can be scratched with some thing like a metal file, and some are as hard as a diamond, which have a Mohs hardness scale of a 7 and can only be scratched by another diamond.