What kind of spice is cardamom?

Cardamom has a complex, distinct flavor. It has a minty, spicy, and citrusy taste with a hint of earthiness commonly associated with herbs. It is also quite aromatic. Its flavor goes very well with cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, cloves, ginger, and other aromatic spices.