Is ultraviolet a type of purple?

Ultraviolet (or UV) light actually has more in common with the color blue. The color of light is determined by the wavelength of that light. UV light can be from 100 to 400 nm, while blue is 450 nm. Purple is a mixture of blue light and red light (at 632 nm). We can only see colors 400 to 700 nm.