Where do frogs go during the winter?

During the winter, they go into a state of hibernation, and some can be exposed to temperatures below freezing. Aquatic frogs, like our own southern leopard frog (Rana pipiens), usually spend the winter at the bottom of a pond or other body of water. But they don't burrow down into the mud.