Are tomatillos spicy?

Tomatillos are not spicy like hot peppers. They have slightly more acid, and are less sweet than ripe tomatoes. The flavor is tangy and bright, and the interior texture is denser and less watery. To mellow out the acidity a bit, cook them to access the fruit's deeper, more savory qualities.