Do turtles breathe out of their buttholes?

Some species (not all) of aquatic turtles can breathe through their butts. In these species there are structures called cloacal bursae, which are essentially highly vascularized tissues which allow oxygen to be absorbed across them, and expel carbon dioxide, specially during hibernation.