What year was gymnastics invented?

Artistic gymnastics was introduced at the very first Olympic Games in 1896 in Athens, and has been present at every edition of the Games since then.

---

Modern gymnastics began in Germany in the 1800s. Experts credit two physical education experts: Johann Freidrich GutsMuths and Friedrich Ludwig Jahn.