Why do people talk in their sleep?

Stress, depression, sleep deprivation, day-time drowsiness, alcohol, and fever. Some suggest that sleep talking is genetic, it runs in families, though external factors seem to trigger the behavior.

---

Sleep talking may be brought on by stress, depression, sleep deprivation, day-time drowsiness, alcohol, and fever. In many instances sleep talking runs in families, although external factors seem to stimulate the behavior.

---

Experts aren’t sure exactly why people talk in their sleep. Sleep talking can occur more often in people with mental health conditions and particularly frequent in people with post-traumatic stress disorder. Overall, though, most cases are not thought to be connected to mental illness.