What do they call french fries french fries?

While the official origin of fries is not totally clear, fries likely originated in Belgium. As legend has it, French fries got their nickname during World War I. American soldiers stationed in Belgium dubbed the tasty treat "French" because French was southern Belgium's dominant language.