Which president declared thanksgiving a national holiday?

President George Washington issued a proclamation for a day of public thanksgiving in 1789. In 1863, President Abraham Lincoln encouraged Americans to recognize the last Thursday of November as a day of Thanksgiving. Then Congress declared Thanksgiving a national holiday in 1870.