Is there such thing as an axolotl?

Yes, axolotls are real. Pronounced ACK-suh-LAH-tuhl, they are very small salamanders native to Mexico, with the ability to regenerate lost limbs and never outgrowing their larval stage. They have become popular as pets around the world but are banned as such in some US states.