What is bumblebee?

A bumblebee is any of over 250 species in the genus Bombus, part of Apidae, one of the bee families. They are found primarily in higher altitudes or latitudes in the Northern Hemisphere. European bumblebees have also been introduced to New Zealand and Tasmania.