Why do human beings have body oder?

According to the Cleveland Clinic, body odor is what you smell when your sweat comes in contact with the bacteria on your skin. Sweat itself doesn’t smell, but when the bacteria on your skin mixes with your sweat, it causes an odor. Body odor can smell sweet, sour, tangy or like onions.