How much is the statue of liberty cost?

The Statue of Liberty in New Jersey, just outside of New York City, was a gift from the French people to the American people. A collection was taken up in France to fund the statue, raising 2,250,000 francs, or 250,000 U.S. dollars, in 1875 currency, or about $6 million in today's currency.