What is the difference between induction and electric hobs?

An electric hob is a flat, sealed, ceramic plate that heats and cools slowly. It only works with flat bottomed cookware. An induction hob is a flat, sealed, ceramic plate that only heats metal cookware favoring cast iron or steel. The induction hob is much quicker and more efficient.