Why is a monkey wrench called a monkey wrench?

Some dictionaries define “monkey:” as a small light structure or piece of equipment contrived to suit an immediate purpose. Ergo a monkey wrench is a wrench that can be easily adjusted at any given time to fit the immediate purpose: fit the size of the nut that its user needs to tighten or loosen.