Where did the term cloud nine come from?

A commonly heard explanation is that the expression 'On cloud nine' originated as one of the classifications of cloud which were defined by the US Weather Bureau in the 1950s, in which 'Cloud Nine' denotes the fluffy cumulonimbus type that are considered so attractive.