What do you have to do to become a cop?

Requirements differ between states, but in general you have to pass a background check, get a 2 or 4 year degree in Criminal Justice, or graduate from a police academy, pass the licensing exam and a psychological evaluation. You'll also have to take continuing education to keep your license.