What was the first animal that ever lived?

While earlier life existed in the form of bacteria, amoebae, etc, these one-celled creatures are not considered animals. The first organism that could be classified as an animal was a comb jellyfish, which appeared about 800 million years ago, at least 40 million years before the first sponges.