What is a fiji apple?

The Fuji apple was developed in Fujisaki, Japan, in the 1930s, and brought to market in 1962. It is a cross between the Red Delicious and old Virginia Ralls Genet apples. It is one of America's fifteen most popular apples. Its name is derived from the town where it was developed: Fujisaki.