What is in paprika?

Paprika is a ground spice made from dried red fruits of sweeter varieties of the plant Capsicum annuum. It is traditionally made from Capsicum annuum varietals in the Longum group, which also includes chili peppers, but the peppers used for paprika tend to be milder and have thinner flesh.