How did china start?

The Shang ruled in the Yellow River valley, which is commonly held to be the cradle of Chinese civilization. ... In 221 BC, Qin Shi Huang conquered the various warring states and created for himself the title of Huangdi or "emperor" of the Qin, marking the beginning of imperial China.