What is the american colonization project?

In 1817 there was a group called the American Colonization Society, who tried to send freed slaves back to Africa, as an alternative to allowing them to remain in the U.S as emancipated people. By 1822, they had developed a colony in West Africa that, in 1847 became the independent nation of Liberia