What is the song eleanor rigby about?

"Eleanor Rigby" broke sharply with popular music conventions, both musically and lyrically. The band's "singing about the neglected concerns and fates of the elderly" and loneliness on the song as "just one example of why the Beatles' appeal reached so far beyond the traditional rock audience".