Why do your nails grow?

Nails are made of a tough dead substance called keratin. Nails actually start out as living cells. Behind the cuticles on fingers and toes, beneath the skin, a structure called the root churns out living cells that go on to form the nail. Nails grow because the cells are constantly being produced