How much money do detectives make?

Police detectives tend to earn significantly more than private detectives. The BLS reports that as of May 2016, the average annual pay of a police detective was $81,490 a year, and the median income was $78,120 a year. Fifty percent of police investigators earned between $55,180 and $103,330 a year.