What is the movie picnic about?

It's about a drifter who visits a small Kansas town on the morning of its Labor Day picnic, and becomes involved with, and disrupts the lives of, various people in the town, including the fraternity brother he came to visit and the man's girlfriend, with whom he becomes romantically involved.