What is the p. t. barnum circus?

P.T. Barnum was the founder of the Barnum and Bailey circus in 1871. It was an American traveling circus company. Barnum gave the American spectacle it’s gigantic size, it’s most memorable attractions, it’s widest popularity, and attempted to make it what he called, “the greatest show on earth.”