Where does heart worm come from?

Heartworms get into the bloodstream of both humans and dogs through mosquito bites. Heartworms in the blood of an infected animal reproduce in the gut of the mosquito after a blood meal. Then, they get carried over to another host by the mosquito and are passed during feeding