What is the definition of pagoda?

A pagoda, is an Asian multistoried tower, with multiple eaves, common in East & South-east Asia. Most pagodas were built to have a religious function, most often Buddhist, but sometimes Taoist, & were often located in or near monasteries. The pagoda traces its origins to the stupa of ancient India.