What's the difference between pico de gayo and salsa?

Pico de gallo is a mixture of fresh chopped tomatoes, jalapeño peppers, onions, and cilantro. Salsa is often cooked and soupier, and can have a more varied of mixture of canned tomatoes, sometimes fruits (especially tropical fruits), beans, garlic, corn, and various hot peppers and spices.