How do you play the game dungeons and dragons?

Dungeons & Dragons is like telling a story with a bunch of authors. You have a Game Master who gives you the basic outline, then each person's character reacts and does whatever you want them to do. You roll dice to see if you succeeded in your plan or not. Your characters can get rich ... or killed