Why do dogs tilt their head when you're talking to them?

There is no conclusive data on this, but there are theories. It may help them hear you better. It may be that they get more attention for being cute, and so do it more often. It also may be that a dog's muzzle blocks its view of our faces, so they tilt their heads to better read our faces.