What does a lodestone compass do?

Lodestones are naturally magnetized pieces of the mineral magnetite. They are naturally occurring magnets, which can attract iron. The property of magnetism was first discovered in antiquity through lodestones. Since it is magnetic, a loadstone compass will align itself with the magnetic north.