How long do germs last on surfaces?

Germs that are found on the body, in the air, and in stool can often be found on dry surfaces. This includes high-touch surfaces like bed rails, door handles, light switches, and keyboards. Many of the germs that live on dry surfaces can live for a very long time – days or even weeks.