How are tattoos made?

Artists inject ink into a person's skin to create tattoos. They use electrically powered tattoo machines that resemble (and sound like) dental drills. ... The skin is penetrated by the needle about a millimeter deep. With each puncture, the needle deposits a droplet of insoluble ink into the skin.