Where did the red square in moscow get it's name?

in the 17th century the russians recited krasnaya ploschad for the square eventually the meaning means red

---

From the 17th century, Russians began calling the square by its current name, “Krasnaya Ploschad.” The name is derived from the word krasnyi, which meant beautiful, and only later came to mean red.